Jago Temple was found in Jago Hamlet of Tumpang Village, Tumpang Subdistrict, Malang Regency 20 km to the east of Malang. As a result of it's settled in Tumpang village, the temple is additionally known as Tumpang Temple, native villagers decision the temple Cungkup.
According to Negarakertagama and Pararaton, the first name of this temple is Jajaghu. Verse forty one phrase four of Negarakertagama describes that King Wisnuwardhana dominated Singasari was a Buddhist Shiva, a spiritual sect that mixes the teachings of Hindu and Buddhist. The teaching flourished throughout the ruling of Singasari Kingdom, a kingdom settled 20 times from Jago temple. Jajaghu, which suggests 'greatness', could be a term used for referring a shrine. Still in step with Negarakertagama and Pararaton, Jago Temple was designed between 1268 and 1280 AD, as a tribute to the fourth King of Singasari Sri Jaya Wisnuwardhana. Though the temple designed throughout the ruling of Singasari Kingdom, the 2 books mentioned that in 1359 AD Jago Temple was one in all the places most often visited by King Hayam Wuruk of the Majapahit Empire.
The association between Jago Temple and Singasari Kingdom can even be copied from lotus carvings, that ramble upwards from their stems and beautify the statues’ pedestals. Such lotus motif was extremely fashionable throughout Singasari Kingdom. Vital to notice from temple history is that the habit of past kings to revive temples erected by their predecessors. Jago Temple had in all probability been fixed in 1343 AD as ordered by King Adityawarman of Melayu had blood relative to King Hayam Wuruk. Now days Jago Temple continues to be in ruined condition and nevertheless to revive. The total structure of the temple could be a square, 23 meters x 14 meters in dimension. Its roof has gone, thus it's impractical to seek out out the precise height of the temple. It's calculable that the temple stood 15 meters high.